Connect with us


Here is how much each Indian Chief Minister is worth



The Association for Democratic Reform (ADR) on Monday released its report on India’s 31 Chief Ministers, which also included the wealth held by each of them. Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu topped the list of wealthiest CMs with assets valued at over Rs 177 crore. The poorest was Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, with assets valued just over Rs 26 lakh.

Naidu has moveable assets worth Rs 134.8 crore and immovable assets worth Rs 42.68 crore, taking his total over 177 crore. Following Naidu on the list is Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu with total assets worth Rs 129.57 crore. Rounding up the top three is Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, but the Maharaja of Patiala is a distant third with assets worth Rs 48.31 crore. Telengana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao (Rs 15.15 crore) and Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma (Rs 14.50 crore) are the fourth and fifth richest CMs respectively.

The BJP, which has governments in 18 states, does not have a single CM in the top ten list. Six out of the top ten richest CMs are from the Congress and the rest belong to the TDP, TRS, BJD and SDF. Out of 31 CMs in India, 25 are crorepatis (with assets exceeding Rs 1 crore).

Manik Sarkar has moveable assets worth Rs 24.63 lakh and immovable assets worth Rs 2.20 lakh, making his total assets worth Rs 26.83 lakh. He is followed on the “poorest CMs” list by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who has moveable assets worth Rs 30.45 lakh and no immovable assets whatsoever. Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti is the third poorest CM with total assets worth Rs 55.96 lakh. Haryana CM Manoharlal Khattar (Rs 61.29 lakh) and Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das (Rs 72.72 lakh) are fourth and fifth respectively. Among the non-crorepatis, UP CM Yogi Adityanath is the richest with assets worth Rs 95.98 lakh. Adityanath is also the sixth-poorest CM in India.

The list of ten poorest CMs in India has five BJP CMs, two from CPI (M), and one each from Trinamool Congress, PDP and JD(U).

Here are the 11 richest chief ministers of India:

1. Chandrababu Naidu (Rs 177.48 cr)

The Andhra Pradesh CM tops the list with assets worth Rs 177.48 crore. Of this, Naidu has declared movable assets worth Rs 134.80 cr and immovable assets worth Rs 42.68 crore, the ADR report says. Naidu has recently upped the ante against the BJP over budget allocations for AP. He has even threatened to walk out of the NDA.

2. Pema Khandu (Rs 129.57 cr)
Arunachal chief minister Pema Khandu comes in on the second place with over Rs 103 crore in movable assets and over Rs 26 crore in immovable assets. ‘

3. Amarinder Singh (Rs 48.31 cr)
The Punjab chief minister who returned to power in the state last year ranks third among the richest chief ministers of India. He has movable assets worth Rs 6 crore and immovable assets worth Rs 42 crore.

4. K Chandrashekar Rao (Rs 15.51 cr)
KCR, as he is popularly known, is the chief minister of Telangana and has been critical of the state government over allocation of funds to the state for centrally-sponsored schemes.

5. Mukul Sangma (Rs 14.50 cr)
The Meghalaya CM is a four-time member of the state assembly. He has served as the chief minister for the past 10 years.

6. Siddaramaiah (Rs 13.61 cr)
The Karnataka CM is currently busy with his party’s campaign for the state elections due later this year. He has served as Deputy CM twice and is hoping for a return to power in the state as CM for his second consecutive term.

7. Naveen Patnaik (Rs 12.06 cr)
The Odisha chief minister is a writer besides being a politician and has published four books. In 2014, Patnaik managed to hold water in the face of the Modi wave and secured 20 out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 of the 147 Vidhan Sabha seats.

8. Pawan Kumar Chamling (Rs 10.70 cr)
The Sikkim leader is the founder president of the Sikkim Democratic Front which has governed the state for five successive terms since 1994. He is also a Nepali language author and writes under the pen name Pawan Chamling Kiran.

9. V Narayanasamy (Rs 9.65 cr)
A senior Congress leader, Narayanasamy was appointed the Puducherry CM in June 2016. He has previously served as Minister of State at the Centre during the UPA regime.

10. Lal Thanhawla (Rs 9.15 cr)
The Mizoram CM has been in office since December 2008 and has served as CM five times, a record for the state. He has also successfully contested general elections nine times.

11. Vijay Rupani (Rs 9.09 cr)
Rupani saw himself being elevated to the Gujarat CM’s post after Anandiben Patel stepped down in 2016. He has been associated with the BJP since its formation and became the president of the party’s state unit in February 2016, just months before his elevation.

Shares 257