Prime Minister Narendra Modi To Inaugurate Vibrant Gujarat Summit Today, Here’s What To Expect And Who Will Attend

The eight edition of Vibrant Gujarat Global Summit is scheduled to kick-start today and Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the event, where a host of foreign leaders, top global and Indian CEOs will attend it. The summit was started in 2003 by Modi as the Chief Minister of Gujarat.

Here is what to expect from the event:

The eight edition of the biennial three-day ‘Vibrant Gujarat Global Summit’ begins today and there several important persons ranging from the global corporate sector, heads of governments and states, Nobel Prize winners to academicians are expected to attend the event.

It is widely expected that the state will receive investment proposals more than Rs. 25 lakh core at this Summit. An Indian-American, Nisha Desai Biswal, who is an Assitant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs in the United States Department of State, is expected to be present with large US business delegation.

For the event, 12 nations– USA, UK, Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Japan, The Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, Sweden, and UAE have agreed to become a partner countries. Large business delegations are expected along with representatives of the countries.

Following the inauguration ceremony, Modi will attend a Global CEO Conclave, where top global and Indian industry leaders will be participating in the event.

PK Taneja, additional Chief Secretary (industries and mines) said that top 50 companies are expected to attend the event in which, 25 are from India and the rest from countries like USA, Japan, France, UK, Netherlands, and Taiwan among others. They include chairman of technology giant Cisco, John Chambers, who also leads a US business delegation, president of Boeing International Bertrand-Marc Allen and CEO of French electricity giant EDF, Jean-Bernard Levy.

On the other hand, Indian corporate leaders who are expected to attend the event includes Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani, Sunil Bharti Mittal, Anil Ambani, Kumar Mangalam Birla, Shashi Ruia, Anand Mahindra, AM Naik, Dr Vishal Sikka, Uday Kotak, Adi Godrej, Dilip Sanghvi, Tulsi Tanti, YC Deveshwar (ITC), Sanjay Lalbhai, Dr Rajiv Modi, Sachin Bansal (Flipkart), Kunal Bahl (Snapdeal), Bhavish Aggarwal (ANI and Olacabs), Sudhir Mehta, Pankaj Patel, Arundhati Bhattachara (SBI), and BK Goenka (Welspun).

Moreover,  heads of state and industry leaders from across the world are also expected to attend the event. Twelve central ministers including Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will attend the event.